Hank White named 2005 Cactus League MVP

Mesa, AZ — Chicago Cubs superstar catcher Henry Blanco was honored today as the Cactus League Most Valuable Player for 2005.  Blanco, a catcher, is hitting .382 on the spring with a homer (a monster shot off of Rockies hurler (and former Wyoming senator) Allan Simpson.  Blanco has slugged .559 on the season for the Cubs.

Blanco is the first Cub to win the Cactus League MVP since Gary Scott did in 1991.  Scott was later shot and killed by a deer in a bizarre hunting accident.  Four Cubs have been runner-ups in the Cactus League MVP voting.

Top finishes by Cubs in Cactus League MVP voting

2005 Henry Blanco, C, 1st
2000 Daniel Garibay, P, 2nd
1991 Gary Scott, 3B, 1st
1991 Laddie Renfroe, P, 2nd
1988 Frank DiPino, P, 3rd
1987 Chico Walker, OF, 4th
1979 Bobby Murcer, OF, 2nd
1964 Ken Hubbs, 2B, 2nd (posthumous)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s